Status
Not open for further replies.

Lucy12

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Pronouns
She/Her
Hi,

My DSN recently gave me a Novopen echo to use instead of the novorapid flexpen that I was previously using, so that I’m able to give half units on insulin.

However I’m finding that sometimes there’s no insulin coming out of the needle. I’ve tried taking the cartridge out and putting it back in, and reattaching the needle which has worked a couple of times but not every time. It’s incredibly frustrating and stressful not being able to reliably get insulin from the pen. Luckily I still have a few flex pens so I do have a back up but these are only able to give full units not half units which isn’t ideal for me.

I’m just wondering if anyone else has this issue or whether I could be doing something wrong?

I’d be grateful for any advice!

Are you sure it isn't something wrong with the needles? I've been using NovoPen Echo for over 5 years and never had a problem like this with them, if the mechanism is ok then it shouldn't be a pen issue

Check that the plastic holder for the cartridge isn't cracked. Might be worth reporting it to Novo Nordisk.

I had one that was cracked which proved to be very erratic but other than that only had a few duff needles.

Hi, just wondering if you might be doing something wrong (maybe).

When you separate the top half of the pen from the bottom, you should see the plunger: this will be either fully recessed into the bottom half, or protruding, potentially a lot. If you have pushed the plunger back in, which you need to do when replacing an empty cartridge, then the pen needs "priming" to bring the plunger back up to push insulin from the cartridge. I select 4 units and watch, if no insulin repeat, until insulin squirts out.

I'm short sighted and have to watch carefully to confirm the insulin is flowing (or take my glasses off). Then I need to put them back on to see where I'm jabbing !!!