Not another thing....

Status
Not open for further replies.

AJLang

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I had an NHS audiology appointment on Monday morning. I already have mild to moderate hearing loss in my left ear which started four years ago and requires a hearing aid.
Since then each year ENT that the yearly audiology tests showed little subsequent change. The last NHS was a year ago.
At NHS audiology on Monday they said that since the last test a year ago there has been a further significant reduction in hearing loss in my eft hear and that I need to see an ENT consultant. Audiologist is certain that it isn't age related and seemed concerned about what has caused this amount of change in a short amount of time - I think that I've been noticing the change for quite a few months hence why I'd requested the audiology appointment.
Got an NHS ENT appointment at 9am next Monday.
On the plus side I've now got NHS hearing for both ears. Hearing loss in right ear is "only" mild.

Sorry to hear about your hearing loss @AJLang

Hope they can get to the bottom of what has caused the changes, and slow any further progression.

There do seem to be many causes of hearing deterioration or loss, but most can be successfully treated. My daughter started to go deaf in her mid-twenties, and successfully managed with hearing aids but they stopped being effective. At 45, she had what they called otosclerosis where there is overgrowth of the bones in the ear, so she had a surgery called a stapedectomy where the bones are removed and replaced with artificial ones, it has been really successful, and she has 90% hearing and doesn't need to hearing aids. She had one ear done first then the other 5 years later. It was scary as they said if it didn't work then the hearing loss would not be able to be corrected by hearing aids.
Identifying the problem is key and sticking with wearing the hearing aids if that is what they suggest.