Noob here, Hi

pjgtech

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi peeps.....
I was diagnosed pre diabetic about 18 months ago, I tried losing weight etc over the next few months, but although I lost a bit, it was not enough, so I was then diagnosed as "proper" diabetic just over a year ago. It was a shock and a wake up call for me.
I initially started with Metformin (x4 a day) but it constantly upset my stomach, so then changed to slow release metformin (x3 a day) which was much better.
My figures have come down and I've lost a bit more weight, but still not enough.

So, I heard about (via my diabetic nurse at my GP practice) about the Type 2 Diabetes Pathway to Remission Programme. Its a total diet replacement scheme (12 weeks) with ongoing support for a further 9 months. It sounded good to me.....
After the initial presentation to see if I was suitable (I was) and a slight delay, I started the programme yesterday!

No normal food, only the provided meals, (shakes and soups) each of only 200 calories, you have four a day, so only 800 calories a day!
On day 2 and going ok so far, but its early days. I hope to contribute to the forum where I can.

Cheers

Hi and welcome.

There are a few people here on the forum trying the Pathway to remission program, so hopefully some of them will be along soon and some who did it themselves following the Newcastle diet and Professor Roy Taylor and his team's work at Newcastle university which ultimately led to the program you are on. I think @zuludog may be one of those. Off the top of my head I am struggling to think of members who are just starting it. I think @Nayshiftin was waiting to start it last time I read one of her posts.