Night hypos?

Status
Not open for further replies.

runner

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1.5 LADA
I've recently split my lantus dose to try and lower morning readings without going hypo during the day. A couple of times, I've woken during the night and tested - the other night BGs were 7.5 at 5am and then 15 at 9.15 before I'd eaten. Are these signs of night hypos?

I'm not an expert, but this does not sound like you have had a night time hypo. The 15 before you have had breakfast sounds like what others have described as dawn phenomena. The liver gives you a boost of glucose because you haven't eaten since last night and thinks there is no food around.

If you're worried see your doctor or diabetic nurse, and I'm sure someone will be along with more accurate information soon.

Thanks, Caroline, I have heard others talk of 'dawn phenomina' and didn't quite realise what that was. Haven't experienced it before tho' and I am a night-time picker and often eat quite late. I am also still getiing into a routine of taking Lantus in the eve as well, and sometimes forget and take it late, along with any adjusting humalog - perhpas all a bit too much? :confused: I'll email the DSN, but any thoughts would be welcome.

I'm on pills so can't offer advice with regards insulin, but do contact the nurse. Things sort themselves out in time.

The other thing is if you worry the stress levels will send the sugar levels up to. It is all to do with the flight or fight mechanism from the days when we were cave dwellers.. We'd get a shot of adrenalin and glucose to give the enrgy for whatever course of action we took.

Hiya

I would just like to add something else into the mix here. Non diabetic people can get the dawn phenomenen as well as those with diabetes. You may not be going hypo but just be more prone to this.

The only couple of ways to tell if you are having a hypo is