NHS and DUK dietary advice - what would YOU promote?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Northerner

Admin (Retired)
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I'm interested in the debate that seems to crop up in various threads about the dietary advice promoted by the NHS and Diabetes UK. Some posters see it as 'seriously flawed' and that it runs contrary to evidence in establishing healthy glucose control as well as providing for other dietary needs.

I'm relatively new to diabetes - less than a year, in fact - and tend to follow the 'official' guidelines in that I eat what I consider to be a healthy, balanced diet. Yes, I'm Type 1 and can 'cover' whatever carbs I eat with insulin should I so wish, but I don't just think I'll eat whatever I want, whenever - everything is in moderation, and I do watch out for refined carbs in particular.

I certainly don't object to the principle that eating a more limited-carb diet can be used to improve BG control - it clearly works very well for many people. What I do wonder, though, is how you could put across such a disciplined approach to the general (diabetic) public? A huge industry exists in the promotion of weight-loss diets, and they continue to sell because people can't stick to the principles, perhaps because they are short-term and fundamentally at odds with 'normal' living, or people aren't prepared to make long-term and sometimes difficult life-style changes.

In light of this, I think the NHS/DUK guidelines are intended as 'least-harm', simple rules that can improve quality of life and life-expectancy with minimal impact. I think if the guidelines became more complicated and prohibitive a large number of people would ignore them completely.

I do think that the guidelines should go deeper in providing support for individuals who might benefit from a more disciplined approach - those receptive to education and prepared to self-monitor should have easy access to those facilities.

Should the message be changed, and how?