• Please Remember: Members are only permitted to share their own experiences. Members are not qualified to give medical advice. Additionally, everyone manages their health differently. Please be respectful of other people's opinions about their own diabetes management.

newbie here

jenks

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
hey i've only been diagnosed for 4 month n was just wonderin if anyone has tips on keepin fit as im in t army n cant afford to put on weight. if not feel free to chat anyway
bye

Welcome Jenks!

I am interested that you are in the army - has your role had to change since developing diabetes? Is it like the police force - that you cannot apply to join if you have diabetes Type 1 i am not sure about the rules on type 2) but if you are already in then you can stay?
As far as exercising goes - even a brisk walk helps!

Hi Jenks,

I took up cycling and it appears to do the trick as well as getting me fresh air an seeing the countryside.

Yeah since i was in before i got diagnosed im allowed to stay but only a desk job and no more fitness, training or going to war zones. They cant kick me out but to be honest who joins the army to do a desk job so i will probibly leave anyway.

im still tryin to go runnin but its so hard managin my sugar levels so that i dont hypo its kinda off putting which is weird as i used to do a lot of runnin.

the thing with keeping your sugars in check with exercise is it is trial and error, I know how much sugar I need per mile of running but that will be different for everyone. It's probably more difficult when you're newly diagnosed as your probably still honeymooning.