• Please Remember: Members are only permitted to share their own experiences. Members are not qualified to give medical advice. Additionally, everyone manages their health differently. Please be respectful of other people's opinions about their own diabetes management.
  • Take a look at our new Type 2 Diabetes Remission section on the Diabetes UK website: https://www.diabetes.org.uk/diabetes-the-basics/type-2-remission

Newbie Here on Victoza and in need of some advise

Chazz78

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi All

My name is Charlotte :), and I am a 45-year-old T2 and I was diagnosed last January with a hbA1c of 76!
I have had PCOS since I was 13 and this has contributed to my T2 diagnosis as I suffer with insulin resistance also.
so, I have fought for years with my weight since having my son in 1995.

I am on 2000mg Metformin per day and was prescribed Victoza in March.
I am currently on 1.8mg but I have found since being on the max dose my weight is going up and not down like when I was on 1.2
I am in a calorie deficit every day and drink 2.5 litres of water per day as well as other SF drinks if I feel the need for a change,

Has anyone else had this same issue? I am 9 weeks in now and total loss to date is 4.4lbs and I am devastated :(.

I need an operation and my surgeon won’t do it until I get my weight to 80KGS

Thank you for taking the time to read my post

What kind of dietary regime are you following?

I found that cutting right down on carbohydrates led to fairly effortless weight loss over an extended period.

Some people find that calorie deficit isn't a great way to lose because they are fighting their body.

How much weight do you have to lose?

Hi All

My name is Charlotte :), and I am a 45-year-old T2 and I was diagnosed last January with a hbA1c of 76!
I have had PCOS since I was 13 and this has contributed to my T2 diagnosis as I suffer with insulin resistance also.
so, I have fought for years with my weight since having my son in 1995.