Newbie here, advise on low sugar please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hazel1010

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello , I’m not on any medication for diabetes or test daily and had the standard borderline contact from doctors about 6 months ago.During this time I’ve had a heart scare which seems to be sorting itself out thank goodness, long story short over the last 6 months I really got to work on my diet , lost 2 stone so far so I’m just under 13 at the moment.
I was an avid walker but due to periods of extreme fatigue I’ve had to cut down a lot and tend to do shorter walks 2/3 miles locally .
Recently I’ve had aching legs , my toe nails are thickened and brittle , blurred eye sight with a strange scaliness on one of my eyelids ( lord help me I’ll never be in a beaut contest ‍♀️) and every now and then it’s as though I suddenly been unplugged ….I mean extreme …..I was walking home yesterday and I was hit like a veil dropped over me and almost sat on a wall to call someone to get me .
those of you with experience, please can you tell me is this a sign of too low sugar , I literally went from everything sugar to as low as I can go , any help please …and I know you are not doctors but time and experience counts for a lot

What are you eating on a day to day basis? Just it isn't sugar alone that effects BG it's total carbohydrates so if your still eating carbs a hypo is unlikely to begin with

The fact you aren't on any medication means its unlikely you had a hypo, non diabetics dip below 4 without any issues and it isn't dangerous like it is for those on blood glucose lowering medication like Gliclazide and insulin

Generally a hypo is accompanied by shaking, sweating, vision problems, unable to concentrate, tingling parts such as lips (mines is the tip of my nose)

It may be worth buying a cheap BG meter to test and see what's going on especially periods where you feel "off" like you did xx

Well done on the changes you have been making @Hazel1010