Newbie: Diabetes Burnout

Bobbie096

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
She/Her
Hi all

I'm new to this forum but I've been managing my Type 2 for the last 8 years and managed to get it into remission within the first 18 months due to diet and exercise and weight loss (5 stone in total). I was able to come off meds and manage it through diet only. I've kept it in remission until this last 12 months.

Now, I've gained a bit of weight (74kg and size 14), partly down to post menopause, and its back!. Cant seem to lose any body fat whatever i do (calorie control, weight training, etc) I'm back on Metformin and hating it. It doesn't seem to be having any noticeable affect on my blood sugar levels and I just feel nauseous all the time (i will discuss this with my diabetes nurse next time i see her). I'm in a frame of mind that i'm just sick and fed up of having to 'manage' this disease. I resent it so much and I'm tired of fighting. I just want to be 'normal'. I know all the right things to do... healthy diet, plenty of exercise....just cant find the motivation or the energy to do it any more.

I would love to hear from anyone who has been through this mindset and how you managed to come through the other side. Also I'd love to hear from any post menopausal ladies on how you manage your type 2 during this phase of life.

Hi @Bobbie096, welcome to the forum. Glad you've found us, especially as you're going through your current struggles. I get the sense this is incredibly frustrating for you, given that you were in remission. It's perfectly normal to feel sick, fed-up and resentful in having to live with diabetes. You're not alone in trying to find the motivation and energy, but also from what you've said, going through the menopause will have played a big part in your sugar levels rising.