New to pumping

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Pronouns
She/Her
Good morning, I've been diabetic for 24 years (49 years old) and I had a telephone consultation with my consultant (covid is back in the local hospitals) and he's finally offered to refer me for a pump. I have a Libre 2 already. He has suggested that I go for a medtronic? so looking for your advice and experiences please

Welcome @Holistichands1975 🙂 I’ve been pumping for more than 20 years. If I were you, I’d look at all the pumps your clinic offers (phone them and ask if you don’t know). My consultant is fantastic but I find the Pump DSN knows more about pumps.

Thank you Inka. My consultant has said he's referring me to the pump nurse. not sure how long it will take though for the appointment to come through. Had a look online at my trust and nothing is showing. So thought I would ask you guys

I doubt the list of pumps they offer would be online @Holistichands1975 You could phone the Diabetes Dept and ask, saying that you want an initial look at them online and to do a bit of reading, so you’re prepared before your pump nurse appointment.

I wouldn’t choose a Medtronic but that’s just me. It’s an individual decision. We all have different preferences, different lifestyles, different needs and different things that are priorities for us.

ooh I didn't think if ringing them in preparation. thank you I'll do that tomorrow and see if they will send me some details

Just ask for the names of the pumps they offer (write down the full name inc any letters or numbers after the brand, eg Pump 150, Tech D**) and just jot them down @Holistichands1975 You can then Google and do your own research 🙂

** I just made up those pump brands as examples