new to pump and have small bleeds and bruising

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anna1

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi All
I am new to the Medtronic 640G pump and use the mini med mio infusion sets. For the first 6 weeks all was good. I have always noticed when I remove the set I get a small bleed where the canula was but it forms a pin sized small scab and then disappears after 2 days. However, for the first time the other day I noticed blood under the set and removed it and got a real gusher which then formed a blue bruised lump at the site. It is now slowly disappearing but today when I changed my last set I noticed upon removing the old one a small blue bruise around the site where the canula was - only tiny and nothing like the big one I had previously but again not something I usually get. I am inserting in my tummy as feel absorption is good there. I am quite lean and have tried my love handles but feel absorption is better in tummy area. Haven't tried bum or legs though. The site does not hurt or itch and there is no irritation. I was given a mini med mio 30 (angled infusion set) with the pump and inserted this just to test the difference but that bled as well when I removed it. Anyone else have these issues? Perhaps I am wiggling the needle around when I pull it out after inserting? Worried I am going to run out of space to insert and love the pump but have only been using it 2 months and already these issues.
Am I removing the set wrong should I not just pull it off?

Also if I put it on my back or bum can I sleep on it?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
Hi Anna,
just pull the cannula straight out. Have you got the right length of cannula for your needs? Might be worth trying a different length.

Hello Anna, I always use Quick set & always after been in the shower. Skin is softer & clean. Always in my tummy & is fine. Really good luck.🙂

Hi Anna