New Pump Options

Status
Not open for further replies.

soapysophy

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting on a forum so bear with me. I'd really appreciate some advice!

I've been offered my pump upgrade and I'm struggling to pick which one to go for. I'm currently on a Minimed 670G and use a Libre (so I've no experience with a Dexcom or CGM and don't think I'll be offered one anytime soon). For reference, I'm used to using the Libre in tandem with the bolus wizard on my Minimed pump.

I've been offered the choices between the Medtronic 780G, the T:Slim X2 and the Omnipod Dash.

As I'm not on a CGM and I don't think I'll be getting one anytime soon, I'm leaning towards the Omnipod Dash as I like the appeal of being wireless for once, but I'm not sure. I'm trying to work out the pros and cons, as obviously I've been using a Minimed pump for years, but the new upgrade offer doesn't seem to offer many benefits considering I'm not using a CGM system. (And since I've never used the T:Slim system, which I know works with a Dexcom, it's probably not my main choice - but if anyone has any advice on why I would be wrong, I'm all ears!).

Any advice would be welcome, I'm just overwhelmed trying to work out which to choose. Thanks in advance 🙂

Welcome @soapysophy 🙂 My advice is to start with no preconceptions and be objective. Write down info for each pump, eg reservoir size, cannula choice (this is extremely important), etc, highlighting anything ‘worrying’ in red and anything ‘special/good’ in green. Then watch YouTube reviews and read reviews online, so you get a feel for each pump.

Finally, think about your lifestyle and your hobbies, and imagine each pump in your life. The right pump is the right one for you as an individual. Eliminate one pump at a time as you work through your pros, cons and preferences.