Status
Not open for further replies.

dai88y

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello everyone!
I have just joined after many years (16) living with type 2 diabetes.
My diabetic nurse put me on an additional tablet last week but it has really effected me badly. It is Empaglitlozin. I took 2 tablets on consecutive days as instructed but developed pain in my pelvis, excessive tiredness to the point of exhaustion and my blood sugar was 21 when I tested it on the second day. I phoned the doctor as the nurse was unavailable and she told me to stop taking it while continuing with the Metformin (4x 500 mg). She has made me an appt for Wednesday.
I am barely eating now as I am so worried about my sugar level! It was a major birthday on Friday too with surprise party and everything but felt I couldn’t really partake of the food and drink
Anyone else experienced the side effects with this tablet?
Apologies if this is not the correct place to post but I am new to message boards!!

Thanks for reading if you made it this far!
Amanda

Welcome @dai88y 🙂 Sorry to hear your medication issue messed up your birthday. How’s your blood sugar now you’ve stopped the medication?

Hi and welcome.

Sorry to hear that you are struggling with your diabetes management and the medication made you feel so unwell and put what I would imagine was quite a damper on your Birthday celebrations. Do you test your levels regularly? If so, what sort of readings are you getting now that you have stopped the Empagliflozin?

Have you been given any dietary advice over the years to help you manage your diabetes and if so what was that and how closely do you follow it? Unfortunately the NHS advice for Type 2 diabetes is rather behind the curve so if you have been following that advice, it may not have helped you too much