Needle Disposal

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizajayne

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello
I am new to the use of needles, lancets, etc. Currently I put all in a yellow box that my GP prescribs for me and I then return the full box to my GP for disposal.

I am unsure if this is the best way to do this and would be interested to know what others do?

Our local council has a scheme, but I am not sure what it is, and whether the provide boxes, or just collect? [I am not good at using the phone & when I email, I am just told to phone!]

Also I am confused at the GP prescribes a 1litre yellow box, but the nurse said I should have an 'orange box', as I dispose of pen needles, lancets and testing strips in the same box.

Any tips would be good.

Thanks
Elizajayne

hi,

my doctors to gave me the sharps bin, but my dn gave me something called a safe clip which cuts the sharp end of the needle off and i then dispose of the rest of it with my test strips in my yellow haz bin. you should be able to get a safe clip off either the doctor or your dn.

Thanks mike
I have heard of these 'safe clips' for needles, but I use needles that screw into my byetta preloaded pen. As well as the needle part, they have a sharp part that goes into the drug, and although this part is sheilded by the plastic cover, it is still sharp. I don't know how I would cut this end off.

elizajayne

I just use the yellow box as prescribed by my Dr. The first one I had had an orange top, and the chemist refused to take it at first, depite it having their stickers all over it.

hi,

yeah my needles have the sharp inner to them to as i have them for my insulin which i load into my novopens, but if you snip the top exposed part off, i have been told by my doctor to then dispose of all of my diabetes related stuff in my yellow haz bin and return it to be destroyed. safe clip also works on the lancets too.