My wife needs to lose weight, any 'partners' with advice please ?

rogertb

Relationship to Diabetes
Carer/Partner
Hi chaps, newbie here, probably a very old story but I hope you can help please ... my wife, early 70s type 1 for many year, is over weight, maybe 3 stone. I do the cooking and try and keep things right but she does tend to 'snack' and "i need something to eat" is a very regular remark that I feel I can't argue with. I could go on and on but maybe someone understands and has some advice/comments ? Many thanks Roger

ColinUK

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Water. Get her too drink a pint of water before each meal and if she’s hungry suggest she has a drink because what we think is hunger is often actually thirst.

Failing that, make a pact that neither of you will snack at all between meals.

trophywench

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Ask her to test her BG when she says she needs to snack - unless it's low she has no medical need anyway unless she's on some really old fashioned insulin regime and hasn't been taught to carb count and dose adjust properly - so let's start there shall we? Which 2 brands of insulin does she use? And what is her latest HbA1c result?

rogertb

Relationship to Diabetes
Carer/Partner
Good tip Colin ... and tw I'm not sure about the insulin, I know Novarapid ... her readings get to me via librelinkup and were 8.6 an hour ago and 6.6 10 mins ago, let me please add I think the world of my wife but there's a little bit of a "leave me alone" syndrome going on, she doesn't like me to fuss, I totally understand this but it does make it a little difficult to try and help. I do ALL of the cooking and try but ....

Drummer

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2