my levels are all over the place

Status
Not open for further replies.

traceycat

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
im still very new to all this, only diganozed last week. this morning i tested myself an i was 15.4 then at lunch i had 2 chicken an salad sandwiches on wholemeal bread, tested again before tea time an i was down to 7.4, then for tea i had 4 baby potatoes each one no bigger than an egg maybe smaller, a portion of fish in batter cooked in oven and frozen peas boiled and after i had fresh furit chopped up an some yougart poured over it, i waited an hour an half an just tested myself again, im up to 15.9 😱 am i eating the wrong foods altogether? if i dont have potatoes what am i supposed to eat. the nurse told me to continue having potatoes for my dinner but now im not so sure. i just feel all this food stuff about what i can an cannot have very confuzing an furstrating. can anyone help. xxx

It is still early days Tracey, try not to be despondent! Ther is an awful lot ot learn and it will take quite some time before you get used to the things that do and don't cause you problems. The thing to watch out for is carbohydrate - in the bread, potatoes, fruit and even in the fish batter whic will contain flour.

Have a look at my review of a good book I read recently:

http://www.diabetessupport.co.uk/boards/showthread.php?t=7337

The book will explain very clearly the best kinds of stuff to eat and will give you a good idea of what adjustments you might need to make 🙂

Hi Tracey - as Northerner says its early days and it's quite hard work trying to find out what works for you, as it is different for everyone. I bought the Collins Carb Counter (about ?4 on Amazon) which I find helpful. I am having a problem with really low readings some mornings (as low as 1.7 - but I feel fine) which I can't fathom at the moment!