My Diabetes Diary

curlyk

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
She/Her
Hello everyone,
I’m new to diabetes having been diagnosed just over a week ago. My HBA1c was very high at 87, with no other symptoms.
My doctors seem very supportive and have started me on glicizade last week (2 tablets) and metformin (in addition) today - I’m on a fast release, but only taking one tablet to build up slowly.
My BMs today have been 7.9 (fasted), 5.5, 6.2, 6.2 after meals and 5.3 before getting in to bed…I’m now terrified of having a hypo during the night!! I’m not even convinced I know what these numbers mean! I keep looking at tables of blood sugar and I fear I’m going down a Google habit hole!
Please tell me these feelings eventually disperse as I get to know my blood sugars better?!

A quick hello @curlyk. If you are still awake ... spoil yourself with one simple plain biscuit, such as a digestive, which should give you a harmless nudge into the 6s and then enjoy your sleep. 5 3 would be fine if you weren't so new to this; the biscuit is just a modest precaution to reduce the possibility of a night hypo. If you still feel anxious set an alarm for 2 or 3 am and do a finger prick reading then to further reassure yourself. Let us know tomorrow how you did.

My BMs today have been 7.9 (fasted), 5.5, 6.2, 6.2 after meals and 5.3 before getting in to bed…I’m now terrified of having a hypo during the night!!
None of those readings are hypo. If you have a hypo in the night, which is probably unlikely as you’re not taking gliclazide before bed, but if you did have a hypo all that will happen is you wake up feeling odd, go and wash hands and fingerprick, if it’s low you treat it with fast acting carbs, fingerprick again 15 minutes later and repeat until over 4. Then have a slow carb snack and get back in bed.

Hello everyone,
I’m new to diabetes having been diagnosed just over a week ago. My HBA1c was very high at 87, with no other symptoms.