Motorhome

Status
Not open for further replies.

Albert54

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello, I am looking for advice please, I was diagnosed T2 in Dec 21 and I use Metformin (down from 4 to 2 a day), my stats are improving (lifestyle) and I am not at risk of hypos etc. Eyesight and other tests are all satisfactory.

I have just purchased a new 3.85 tonne rated motorhome and I need some guidance.
At 3.85 tonne the motorhome is rated as a private heavy goods vehicle, I need and have, (through grandfather rights) a C1 licence to drive it.
The DVLA has a number of leaflets and forms to complete - they are divided into car or lorry/bus driver categories, at 3.85 tonne my vehicle cannot be described as a car (it’s over 3.5 tonne) and I am guessing that I should assume that I am a lorry driver but I am not certain, I do not require a vocational licence and lorry/bus driver does seem to suggest that I would be a professional driver.
At the moment I am erring on the side of caution and going down the route of advising DVLA that I am a lorry driver with non insulin treated T2 but I wonder if anybody else out there as any experience of this with a similar situation to mine.

I was able to get a VW LT46 LWB downplated to drive on my normal licence. I had C1 on my licence when it was paper, but it evaporated when I changed to a plastic one at the age of 70.
The van is rated as light goods vehicle now.
My diabetes is not important at all - I did let the DVLA know when I was first diagnosed, but they said that it was not something which affected my driving so they were not interested.
It was almost impossible to contact the DVLA directly a while ago, but you could try calling and see if they can give you advice on your particular circumstances.

Hello,

It makes sense that your motorhome is used for “recreational purposes.”