Mini Fridges

Status
Not open for further replies.
have one and wouldn't put insulin near it.
Mine ices up after a couple of days so wouldn't trust it not to damage / freeze the insulin.

if any I would look more at the beer fridge size ones with proper thermostat controls. (tabletop fridge type ones but not ones that can only hold like 6 cans of coke)

Last edited:
Sorry, I have no experience of them.
In 20 years of diabetes with lots of travel (including to some very hot countries) I have never needed to store my insulin in a mini fridge. It is fine at room temperature for up to 30 days. When I am spending long periods outside in hotter temperatures, I use Frio wallets.
What is your reason for needing one?

Thanks, I was just thinking of separating my insulin from the contents of the main fridge where the temperature can fluctuate and then from time to time my wife does a defrost so I then have to it in a wallet

Thanks, I was just thinking of separating my insulin from the contents of the main fridge where the temperature can fluctuate and then from time to time my wife does a defrost so I then have to it in a wallet

When we had to defrost fridge I just put boxes of insulin in plastic bag with some frozen peas or ice packs, it kept it cool till fridge was back up & running.

If you think the temp in your fridge fluctuates, you can put insulin in an insulated box in fridge, or even a vaccum flask, but i don't think its really necessary. I keep mine in the door egg compartment were its least likly to get icy. You could use a vaccum flask for defrosts

same with tdm...mine lives in the door too 🙂

Unless a fridge defrost takes longer than a day, I wouldn't worry about it. It will remain cool enough for that time. If you are concerned, you can keep it insulated as you would any fridge contents. It's not like freezer contents that can thaw.