Metformin reaction

Status
Not open for further replies.

R Ramsay

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Afternoon, I am a fairly new Diabetic newbie and I have been taking Metformin (2000 mg a day) for about 6 weeks, in the last 2 weeks it has started to give me stomach issues and when I have reduced the dosage the issues subside but my BG levels slowly creep up. From reading peoples Bios it seems a popular tablet, is it he best or other types tablets just as effective?

Hi, I take it and haven't had any problems with metformin, but it gives some people bad stomach/bowels, and they need to ask their GP for the slow release version of metformin as that's meant to be kinder on the digestive system.
I don't know if it's the best tablet, or the most effective, but it's the first one that doctors will give you.
If you're not getting on with metformin, it's worth going back to your GP and asking for something different. There's lots of other tablets that you can take for diabetes, the doctor will be able to advise which is the best one for you to have.
Hopefully someone else on the forum can advise what other tablets they've had instead of metformin, as it's the only one I've had.
Hope you get it sorted soon, Sarah

Hi. Yes, do ask for Metformin SR (Slow Release) which is much kinder. There are other tablets which do different jobs but the highest priority is to have a low-carb diet.

I took it in the early days when originally diagnosed as type 2. Took it for around 2 months. From memory I had stomach cramps etc, spending a decent amount of time in porcelain palace. It did start to subside after a while , then I was put on insulin so that was the end of my metformin journey. Some folks say it gets better, others can’t get on with it and do everything they can to avoid. What kind of bg numbers are you seeing Ramsey ?

Ps it was slow release that I was on