Medtrum

Status
Not open for further replies.

lauracarmen

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
Morning, my daughter was diagnosed Sept 2022. We've been offered the Medtrum to try next week and I'm a little nervous. I wondered if anyone could give me there experiences with Medtrum and any advice? Many thanks

I think @helli is an enthusiastic Medtrum user.

There are some more mixed experiences of their CGM, but I think that includes earlier incarnations

Thanks for the shout @everydayupsanddowns .
Yes, I have been using the Medtrum for a few years. I started with the A6 pump. A year ago, I was one of the first in the country to migrate to the Nano. I love the size of it and I love managing it via a phone app, although there is a PDM that comes with the pump as an alternative.
I find the pump easy to set up, including changing sets every other day.
It was not my first pump so I knew what I was getting into. I say this because the quality has not always been top notch. Medtrum are fantastic with support and replacements but i would rather not needing to call upon them.
Unfortunately, I am sensitive to the glue used on the pump. Thankfully, the solution is simple - I use HyperFix tape under the pump.

I self fund the CGM as it interacts with the pump to auto suspend when I am going low and see my levels on the same phone app. This is fantastic for me - which it has to be when I could get the Libre on prescription.
Like all CGMs, it has limitations. But, unlike Libre, I can calibrate it which gives me peace of mind as I always calibrate when my BG is flattish and at ”normal” numbers.

Thanks for the shout @everydayupsanddowns .
Yes, I have been using the Medtrum for a few years. I started with the A6 pump. A year ago, I was one of the first in the country to migrate to the Nano. I love the size of it and I love managing it via a phone app, although there is a PDM that comes with the pump as an alternative.