Medication Concern

Status
Not open for further replies.

John Brooks

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I'm a Newbie so if I get things wrong like posting in the wrong thread please forgive me and let me know.

My problem:

I had been suffering from aches in my stomach for more than a week so I went to my Doc.

He wondered if it was being caused by some of the medication I was taking, namely Atorvastatin for cholesterol and Metformin for my Type 2 diabetes.

He suggested I stopped taking these medication for a fortnight to see if that sorts my problem out.

My concern is that stopping this medication for that long could cause problems with both my Diabetes and Cholesterol levels.

Can anyone please offer any advice as to whether as to whether this could be dangerous or not.

Any help or advice or advice gratefully received.

John

I'm a Newbie so if I get things wrong like posting in the wrong thread please forgive me and let me know.

My problem:

I had been suffering from aches in my stomach for more than a week so I went to my Doc.

He wondered if it was being caused by some of the medication I was taking, namely Atorvastatin for cholesterol and Metformin for my Type 2 diabetes.

He suggested I stopped taking these medication for a fortnight to see if that sorts my problem out.

My concern is that stopping this medication for that long could cause problems with both my Diabetes and Cholesterol levels.

Can anyone please offer any advice as to whether as to whether this could be dangerous or not.

Any help or advice or advice gratefully received.

John
I think these are both medicines that build up slowly in the system, so stopping them for two weeks shouldn't be any major concern.
My money is on the Metformin, it's notorious for causing gastric upsets, wind, etc ( it's nicknamed Metfartin on here!) There is a slow release version which some people find gentler on their stomachs, your GP may consider that if indeed metformin turns out to be the culprit,