Lumps when taking cannulas out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennywren

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I have been pumping since oct 2010 , and just started noticing everytime i take my cannula out i am left with a lump under skin some bigger than others but a lump everytime , Am i doing something wrong or just sensitive to cannula ?

I find I get that too. I've recently tried the steel cannulas offered by Medtronic and I've found that I've noticed that I've not had any lumps or they have been absolutely tiny. Perhaps you could give the steel ones a go?

Changing every 2 days 🙂 . Has anyone else any ideas ?

Could just be the area you put them in? How long do the lumps last? Mine tend to go away pretty quickly, within the day, I use a tea tree spray when I take one out which I think helps.

Shiv it is happening on both sides :( and the lumps are lasting a few days if not more .

I do know one person who has to change the canula every day, not the tubing, just the canula.

I would change the type of set. What do you use at the moment? What pump are you on?

I could well be the way you are doing it, who knows, it could be a number of things. Have you spoken to your DSN about it.

Please be careful. If you think in any way that any of these lumps could be an infection get antibiotics immediately, don't muck around. These site infections are really nasty and are very deep.

🙂