Low Fat/High Fat Confusion

MitMot

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hello, complete newbie here, diagnosed yesterday. My head is in a bit of a spin as I try to get to grips with everything but thankfully (at the moment at least) I don't have the worry of Insulin, only tablets and diet.

The one question I have is with regards to low fat or high fat foods. Even before diagnosis I was trying to cut down on carbs and I found that a small portion of full fat Greek Yoghurt for breakfast was really filling and satisfying, whereas I could eat double the amount of a low fat version and not feel sated at all.

I've seen many mentions throughout this forum about enjoying full fat foods which is great but my GP has advised a low carb and low fat diet so now I am very confused :D. Is there an official line on this?

Years ago my dad was also advised low fat when he was diagnosed. I guess its a very individual thing too and I'll need to experiment and monitor for a while but would be interested to know what advice you received from your health care professional.

rebrascora

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi and welcome.

It is interesting that you have noticed such a significant difference between the effect that the low and full fat versions of just one product have had on you and I think it illustrates a point very well. Fat is satisfying. It takes longer to digest and provides slow release energy. The low fat versions don't achieve that but also contain more carbohydrates which cause your BG to rise. The body produces insulin to counteract that but then your BG drops and you feel hungry again. This may be the reason why we currently have a diabetes and obesity epidemic despite being advised to and choosing low fat foods for the best part of our lifetimes.