Low Blood Sugar

Conor78

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi
I work in a school and we have a pupil with Type 1. I have completed some of the training and have a understanding of the basics. One thing that I don't get is the connection between low blood sugar levels and insulin. I understand that the lack of insulin means that the danger is overloading the body with glucose. Does Type 1 cause a reduction in blood sugar levels.
Secondly in someone who doesn't have Diabetes what is their normal blood sugar levels and if it drops to a 4 mmol do they have similar effects.
Thanks in advance,

Sally71

Relationship to Diabetes
Parent
Eating carbohydrate makes blood glucose go up, insulin makes it go down, so you've basically got a balancing act between food and insulin to try to keep blood glucose levels within the normal range. So if you eat too much carbohydrate or don’t take enough insulin, your blood glucose level will be too high. If you take too much insulin, or don’t eat enough carbs for the insulin you've taken, your blood glucose will drop too low. And then you need some sugar quickly to bring it back up again, or if you are too high you need insulin to bring it back down.

That's it in a nutshell, although extremely oversimplified - things like hormones, illness, activity levels, stress, what day of the week it is etc etc can all have an effect on blood sugar. And everybody is different, doses of insulin and timings required etc are very different from one person to the next, and how different things affect each person also varies. So trying to balance it all the time is virtually impossible!