Long Term Low Carb?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrew Gibson

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I've been following a low carb sugar free diet since I was diagnosed with TD2 a couple of years back. Having lost 4.5 stone my HBAC1 is now 39 and I've been told by my surgery that I don't need to come back for any further blood tests, since I'm not technically a diabetic. However, I know that I have precisely no ability to process sugar, as I have tried taking a fasting blood test then drinking 411ml of original Lucozade. After 2 hours sitting still my blood readings are through the roof and I feel like death warmed up.

So I guess what I'm asking is if anyone knows the long term effects of a low carb ketogenic diet? I don't have any problems sticking to it and generally feel far healthier as a result.

I've been following a low carb sugar free diet since I was diagnosed with TD2 a couple of years back. Having lost 4.5 stone my HBAC1 is now 39 and I've been told by my surgery that I don't need to come back for any further blood tests, since I'm not technically a diabetic. However, I know that I have precisely no ability to process sugar, as I have tried taking a fasting blood test then drinking 411ml of original Lucozade. After 2 hours sitting still my blood readings are through the roof and I feel like death warmed up.

So I guess what I'm asking is if anyone knows the long term effects of a low carb ketogenic diet? I don't have any problems sticking to it and generally feel far healthier as a result.
I was diagnosed T2 and told to go on LCHF diet without any meds at all. I've lost weight too and feel much healthier.I was told i'll always be a diabetic and should maintain my diet & exercise regime even if my HBAC 1 readings are within acceptable levels.

Hi Andrew....
That's really unfortunate that they don't consider you D anymore, anyone with half a brain would know that you just have D under control....