Libre or Dexcom

Status
Not open for further replies.

JamietDE6

Relationship to Diabetes
Other Type
Hi I am new to all this but hear and read a lot about Libre and Dexcom. If i am able to qualify for either which is preferable and more reliable?

We are all different. Many people say Dexcom is best but I trialled it and found the phone app very basic and the sensors (I had two) were less accurate than Libre for me.
The advantage of Dexcom over Libre 2 is that Libre transfers datas from the sensor using NFC so you have to scan it whereas Dexcom uses Bluetooth. It is, however, possible, to use unofficial apps to make Libre use Bluetooth.

For me, dexcom is a lot more reliable....was always getting sensor error with libre 2. Plus, i felt a bit of a fool swiping myself in public. Also, dexcom is more accuate and doesn't keep waking me up at noght with false lows

Thanks for the replies which are very helpful. Just to clarify does anyone T1 get Dexcom G6 on prescription?

Just to clarify does anyone T1 get Dexcom G6 on prescription?
I'm sure some do, but it's more expensive and can only be offered by hospital teams.

The other four (including Libre 2 and Dexcom ONE) are about the same cost as each other and can be prescribed by GPs; anyone currently being prescribed Libre 2 should (in theory) be able to ask for one of the other four and get it without any problems.

Thanks for the replies which are very helpful. Just to clarify does anyone T1 get Dexcom G6 on prescription?
My kid gets G6 on prescription but only because he’s looping with his pump and they can justify the additional funding on ‘psychological grounds’. It’s not as easy to get funding for and varies from team to team.

I have a meet with my Consultant and diabetic clinic soon and will ask which they are offering. Will report back with their advice

I’ve just got Dexcom G7 on prescription. I chose it over G6 because it’s much smaller and only has a 30 min warm up time.