Libre - glucose reading of 3.7 T2D

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emma Z

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi there

I got my Libre monitor today - had small dinner as was not hungry - some cheddar cheese - a handful of pistachios and 2 dates -and 2 metformi The reading after ten minutes came with an alarm of 3.1 - I ate half an apple - reading wen up to 3.7 but still got an alarm saying was too low . Should I be worried ? I never thought I would have to react to low glucose - I am fairly newly diagnosed and I am on 4 metformim (2 and 2)

If you are not treating your diabetes with insulin, a level in the 3s is not a concern.
However, Libre are not that accurate, especially in the first couple of days.
It is always recommended to check Libre with a finger prick.

However, I see nothing for you to worry about. But I am not a doctor.

Have you tried doing a finger prick to see what results you get? The sensors sometimes give very different results, and the one I have just taken off spent a week being close to finger pricks, then suddenly started to drift upwards.

Today it was giving 7.2 when a finger prick test came back with 5.1. Neither are fully accurate measurements.

As hello says, I wouldn't worry. Mine sometimes goes into the 3s after a walk/run, but it goes back up to the 5-6 region afterwards. With the sensors you can see this.

I think now reading the forum that I need to calibrate it as my finger prick was 7.5 - will try and see how to do that now

If you are not treating your diabetes with insulin, a level in the 3s is not a concern.
However, Libre are not that accurate, especially in the first couple of days.
It is always recommended to check Libre with a finger prick.

However, I see nothing for you to worry about. But I am not a doctor.