Libre 2 Accuracy - When to Contact Abbott?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CivicFreak

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I have been using the Libre 2 for a couple of months now, and apart from early teething troubles I've really come to like it and for the most part the accuracy seems to be fairly in line with my finger prick readings from my meter.

However my current sensor (I applied it last Saturday) seems to have gone a bit awry over the past couple of days. When I first put it on the readings were reliable but I've noticed over the past 2 days the readings have been drifting further from my BG readings. My first inkling that something wasn't right was that after eating my tea my sensor indicated my glucose had dropped to below 3 - yet I felt perfectly fine (I normally recognise the signs of a hypo very well). Checked with a finger prick and I was actually above 5. This morning I scanned my sensor again and found that according to the readings I essentially had a hypo which lasted all night - first reading this morning was 3.7 but finger prick showed I was actually 7.9 - a massive difference!

Just before posting this thread I scanned my sensor - reading of 7.2 but finger prick reads 11.5 so I'm feeling that the data I'm getting from my sensor cannot be trusted. Is this a common thing? Should I be getting in touch with Abbott about this and getting a replacement sensor? Feel like I'm answering my own question really, as I already know I can't trust the readings I'm getting, but just wondered if this was a common thing, and if it is, how exactly can we ever really rely on the Libre in the first place?

@CivicFreak I would not say this is a "common thing" but it happens.
In your position, I would be contacting Abbott and have evidence of differences to hand.
You can show that it is out by a long way and that you are at risk of missing hypos which they should take seriously.

@CivicFreak I would not say this is a "common thing" but it happens.