Levemir

Status
Not open for further replies.

destype

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi,

First time poster. Type 1 diabetic.

I have been having to gradually reduce my overnight basal and I am currently on 1.5 units. To me this seems a very small amount but I had to reduce it from 2 units recently as I had 2 hypos during the night.

Background is that I am perimenopausal and I am having light therapy for Vitiligo. I also have some sinus issues that I will be having a procedure for at the end of the year.

Any clues as to what may be going on or has anyone had the same thing happen to them? I've contacted my diabetes nurse and I'm waiting for an answer and asked my Light Therapy nurse but she doesn't think they are linked.

Thanks in advance.

Welcome @destype 🙂 I’m perimenopausal (the fun!) and I’ve found my insulin needs have dropped quite a lot. They’re also quite erratic, although HRT has improved that. So, perhaps it is hormones.

I have no experience of light therapy but I suppose in theory if it made the areas hot it might affect absorption too, but my money’s on the peri. Reading round, I’ve found people needed to make quite significant reductions. One women said her basal more than halved. So, be safe - you only need what you need, however little that is.

Welcome @destype 🙂 I’m perimenopausal (the fun!) and I’ve found my insulin needs have dropped quite a lot. They’re also quite erratic, although HRT has improved that. So, perhaps it is hormones.

I have no experience of light therapy but I suppose in theory if it made the areas hot it might affect absorption too, but my money’s on the peri. Reading round, I’ve found people needed to make quite significant reductions. One women said her basal more than halved. So, be safe - you only need what you need, however little that is.