Letter for air travel (Return trip, England to Spain)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Pronouns
He/Him
Hello,

Do I need a letter for air travel if I'm taking an Accu-chek Instant with strips, Accu-chek Fastclix with lancets (drums) and pack of Metformin on a flight (Ryanair) from Manchester to Malaga?

My Doctor wants £35 for a letter if I require one.

Any advice?

I have been travelling for 20 years with lancets, needles and syringes on, literally, hundreds of flights. Only once have I been asked to show a letter and that was during a period of high security alert. It was due to the “shoe bomber”, if you remember that.
Airport security are only concerned with blades longer than 6cm which you are not travelling with so there should be no reason for a letter. If you are concerned, you could take a copy of your prescription. I would not waste £35 on a letter.

I agree with helli completely. I've carried insulin and blood testing stuff for over 30 years with no problem. Save your money.

Do you put it in hand luggage though or does it have to go in hold baggage? I have lancets, strips and a glucose machine even though I was pre-diabetic, normal, pre-diabetic again. I have never taken mine as I worry about security at the airports. As I am not diabetic and so, strictly speaking, do not have a "medical condition" I wondered if I would be breaking the rules.

These things are not a problem at airports. You aren't required to prove that you are diabetic and in any case it's perfectly legal to carry them. You'd have to be pretty determined to cause anybody serious harm with a finger pricking device. If you are still worried put it in the hold.

Last edited:
Do you put it in hand luggage though or does it have to go in hold baggage?
I put it in my hand luggage. That way I can guarantee it will arrive at the destination at the same time as me.