Learning about Type 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

novorapidboi26

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I am still learning about type 2 as I am type 1 myself........

I hear people talking about spikes, assuming this to be in there Blood Glucose levels in the recent post about brown rice.

Is rice, of any kind, and any starchy, slow release food not what Type 2 diabetics should be trying to eat to avoid these so called spikes?

What kind of spikes occur when eating rice (brown and white)?

I look forward to the type 2s insight........

When I was still reckoned to be a Type ,2 I was told to cut way down on things like pasta, rice, white bread, and pasta. If I had to have some, it should be wholemeal or whole grain and much less than I would usually have had. I've switched to wild rice, whole meal pasta, wholegrain bread and binned the spuds for the most part. I use sweet potatoes, carrot and swede mash or cauli mash instead.

I refer to an unusual rapid increase in BS as a Spike ..
when first dx i found mine came mainly from bread ...some get it from noddles for example ...but im fine with them ...we all act differently so the gps send out an agreed message sort of blanket advice in the form of a sheet !! and a plate with a piccie on it !!... so as a T2 you need to test to work out which food does what ...
another example is fruit ...i was a real 'fruit bat' but it sends me high ...so if I'm having some i will reduce my other carb intake to try and balance it out.

What i am trying to do is balance my Blood sugars so the increase range pre food -post food is not too extreme... does that make any sense ???

White bread and white rice send me high. That is what i would call a spike.
Brown and wholegrain and wholewheat seem to be good for sugar readings.

I was told to eat carbs at every meal (but I could have misunderstood) but the carb should only be a quarter of my plate with a quarter protein and the rest veg.