Lancing sites

Status
Not open for further replies.

Silkman_Bob

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi All

I am a newbie so please bear with me!🙂

When you are taking blood to test your glucose, does it have to be from your fingers or is say the top of your arm ok?

Thanks

Bob

Last edited:
I'm fairly new at this myself, but I was told fingers. Presumably because they're easier to get at.

Maybe yeah - I find that it doesnt hurt as much on my arm though - just being a wimp 🙂

hi silkman bob and welcome to the forum , I find it best to take from the side of the finger but use diffirent finger so your not using the 1 all the time , i have never tryed anywhere else yet but if i remember from my leaflet i got with my meter it did mention the thigh is a good place as it is muscley, never done the arm before but i guess if it sits mroe comfortable with you and your getting sufficeint blood then its ok, im sure some one will come along and give you sounder advice

Like so many things in diabetes, the answer all depends, but here it depends on your system, not your body / physiology...
Welcome to the forum - and the world of questions and answers, which often begin with "depends"...
In this case, it depends on the blood glucose testing system you are using - some say wrist (same side as palm of your hand) is OK. If using fingers, key thing is to use the sides, not pads, as sides have fewer sensation nerve endings, so it's less painful, both at the time, and afterwards, as you also pick things up with pads of finger not the sides.

Hi Bob, as others have said it depends on which meter you are using - with some it is possible to use the thigh or the forearm, although this is not recommended if you believe your blood sugar may be very low s the blood taken from these sites will actually show a delay of up to two hours - that is, how your levels were up to two hours ago.