Ketones on my blood glucose monitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

DarronH

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
H I am getting the word ' Ketones 'on my blood sugar monitor I'm very new to all this and wonder what I should do... I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes just before Christmas.

I also want to find the right diet but there is just too much information so again any help or experience anybody can care for would be really useful

Any help would be great.

If meters showing the word 'ketones' when you check your blood it is just a prompting to check for ketones as your blood sugar is high it doesn't mean you have ketones

H I am getting the word ' Ketones 'on my blood sugar monitor I'm very new to all this and wonder what I should do... I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes just before Christmas.

I also want to find the right diet but there is just too much information so again any help or experience anybody can care for would be really useful

Any help would be great.
When the monitor says Ketones it is usually an advice to check for ketones as high blood glucose and ketones can indicate a dangerous combination and would require immediate medical attention. Urine dip stick can be used to check unless your monitor also does ketones using ketone test strips.
However depending on your diet which if low carb/keto may produce dietary ketones.
If in any doubt then call your GP or 111
What blood glucose reading are you getting?
What medication are you taking?

HI thanks for the help and information. My reading is 17.9 mm0l/L with the word 'KETONE?' In true I need to understand what I should do next. I need to find a diet everyday meal plan. I have being using the recipes on here and have lost a stone.

HI thanks for the help and information. My reading is 17.9 mm0l/L with the word 'KETONE?' . I have being using the recipes on here and have lost a stone.
Was the losing intended and did it come easilly to you?