just been out for a meal with friends..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shevicks

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
As I am new to this, and feeling a little lost, I thought I would ask one of those silly questions you said you didn't mind! I have been out for a meal this evening. I had goats cheese and olive tapenade for starter followed by ribeye steak in brandy and mustard sauce served with potatoes and veg (although, I hardly ate any potato at all). I only drank water (driving) and turned down the delicious puddings on offer.

Out of interested I tested at 1 hour and my result was 5.4, at 2 hours it was then 5.3. When I got home, I could not resist a small bar of 85% chocolate. I have tested again an hour later and it has not had any effect on the result at all.

I did expect to have different results. I was not sure about the cheese at all and the chocolate. Can anybody explain as these are some of the lowest results I have had, and I have eaten like a King??? :confused:

Thank you for the lovely welcome yesterday. xx

Sounds great!!! The food sounds yummy and your results are marvelous. I think this restuarant should open in a town near me!

Seriously, are you on any medication? Did you take it after the meal? Your meal doesn't sound spectacularly sugary or carby (especially since you avoided the spuds) and at 85% the chocolate doesn't sound that bad either. Without sugars or carbs your blood sugar will only increase very slowly, so your insulin production and use was able to keep up with processing your dinner. I guess you just got it right, congratulations! Nice one. I woundn't worry if everything is going smoothly (coz worry will put your blood sugar up).

Rachel

Are you on any medication, Shevicks?

In any event, there didn't sound to be much in the way of carbohydrates in that meal.

Also, any fat in the meal tends to slow down the release of glucose into the blood.

Andy

p.s. Ah! I see that Rachel got there ahead of me!