Is this doctor a quack?

Status
Not open for further replies.

duncan

I do not have diabetes but I'm an administrator for a council house exchange website. We have a "general" board and allow our members to post links to other websites, we usually remove links to sites we've not heard of and replace them once we've checked them out.

One of our members has recently posted a link to an American website which claims to cure diabetes by using a natural diet.

If you've all stopped laughing, could you let me know that this is definitely not possible.

I should add that we are highly sceptical and the link will remain deleted from our site unless we find out otherwise.

From my limited knowledge of diabetes I would image that this American doctors claims could be very dangerous.

I have not put the link in because I'm not sure what your rules are here and because it seems unethical to post a link currently removed from my site. If any of the adiministrators would like the link please PM me.

I'd be gratefull for any help or advice, thank you.

All the best - Duncan

LOl if there was a cure would we be here?
Would the product be snake oil? :D
Send him a bill for advertising on your site.

Sounds like it's a fair question to ask Diabetes UK careline - 0845 120 2960, Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm - they may have heard of the website you've seen & removed.
There is no cure for any type of diabetes, but lots of things that can help, although it's very doubtful that any non-prescribed "natural diet" would be worth paying money for.

I always find I seem to be inundated with spam for various berries, juices, oils etc that are meant to be a miracle cure but sadly there is no cure at the moment...

Sue, amyes and Copepod,

Thank you for taking the time to reply. You've confirmed my thoughts on the matter. I'll go back "home" and make sure the link never gets put back again.

It wasn't snake oil, just some American doctor advocating a natural diet.