Invokana / Canaglifozin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kopiert

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
HI

Well, disappointedly, my HbA1C has now returned to the level it was when I was diagnosed. 88

Having managed it (39 - 44) by diet and exercise for 4-ish years it started to go up when I agreed to go into statins. The pharmacist and the nurse declined to believe me when I said that there are reports that statins can increase blood glucose levels (in spite of it being a common side effect for diabetics on the information street). Of course, they didn't like that I was self-testing and took no notice that I observed a massive jump a couple of weeks into starting statins.

I now find I am on a cascade of drugs. Back of Metformin - now doubled to 4 per day. Statins (they refuse to let me try anything apart from Atorvastatin) and a drug called Canaglifozin. I have no experience of this and wondered if others had tried it. It looks pretty powerful and comes with its own handbook!

I don't want to sound like an anti-vaxxer, but 9 months ago, I was controlling it via diet; today, I am carrying so many pills I sound like a pair of maracas. I am considering just stopping them all.

Just a question - Are you, seriously, in imminent danger of dropping dead PDQ should your cholesterol level increase from what it is now for a month or two?

To my mind if I think some drug has a side effect on me I don't want, I'd probably want to try cutting out, or down, on that drug but, usually better to do that about a month/6 weeks before a blood test for latest results of this that and the other, to see what effect stopping/reducing the drug is actually having on me. NB - for all I know you might already have known cardiac and/or renal health issues - in which case I think my consideration would be entirely different.