Insulins

• Thread starter Thread starter FM001
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
F

FM001

Hi again

As a newbie, I was wondering what type of insulins are used by the forum members.

I am on 22 units of Novorapid daily, and 26 units of Lantus.

Regards

Toby

Hi Toby,

I'm on the same varieties as you - NR and lantus. It varies, but usually around 30 NR per day and 7 lantus. Looking at your doses your proportions are very different to mine! I used to be on 20 lantus, but took it right down after finding I had to go to bed on very high (>10) levels to avoid night-hypos. So, I've had a 65% reduction in that since last year and it's now less than 25% of my daily dose.

Thanks Northerner

I have tried cutting back on the lantus, even by a couple of units, however it just throws my control out and I end up with higher pre-meal bg's. My novorapid usage has decreased lately by 16 units, due to a slight reduction in carbs at each meal.

Toby

Thanks Northerner

I have tried cutting back on the lantus, even by a couple of units, however it just throws my control out and I end up with higher pre-meal bg's. My novorapid usage has decreased lately by 16 units, due to a slight reduction in carbs at each meal.

Toby

I think it just goes to show how different we all are! I suspect I may have some residual beta cell function that means I need less basal, but it can't cope with meals, so I need proportionally more novorapid. My general food intake is smaller than after I was first diagnosed - I was ravenous all the time and about 3 stone underweight. Once I acheived my 'normal' weight things seemed to settle down a lot.

Novorapid, ratio of 1unit:1 CP (10g carbs) breakfast and lunch and ratio of 1.5:1 in the evening (I have highest ratio at night, most seem to be the other way). Then 24 units of lantus at night.

Welcome Toby