Insulin requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbyr14

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hello all. I rarely post but need help. T1D for 44 years, now aged 54. I’ve always been on a relatively low dose - 24 units of novorapid and 12 Tresiba. Lately my BG is through roof - it’s like insulin is not working properly. I’ve done all necessary checks - changed insulin pen, sensor etc but still readings are bizarrely high. Any ideas what might be going on? Thanks Jon

Are you under stress @Bobbyr14 ? Are your injection sites ok? Are you on any other medication? Are you fingerprick checking your sensor?

Hello and thank you for your reply. I use a Libre 2 but I also double check on occasions with a finger prick ( I think readings are accurate). Whilst it could be considered I am going through a stressful time I do not feel stressed. I’m just so puzzled - I’ve not known anything like it.

Hello @Bobbyr14,

I'm a newbie in relation to your experience so you've probably considered this already. How long have you been on Tresiba and are you using that principally to keep you steady through the long fasting hours of night? If that is your strategy for your Tresiba, have you done a basal check? These days with any CGM it is, of course, so easy for the nighttime (and no point in looking at other parts of the day if your Tresiba is optimised for nights). Just look back at your last 3 overnight graphs and if they are not suitably straight and level then you at least know they should be (must be) and you can focus on why you get nighttime variability. You shouldn't with Tresiba.

I no longer get DP (tiny protein snack if I wake for the bathroom, or just can't sleep and again as soon as I get out of bed) and my FOTF starts about 30-45 minutes after I get out of bed; so neither of those Phenomena affect my nighttime graphs.