Insulin pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ian S

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Apparently my omnipod dash is going out of warranty and I have been offered a choice of…minimed 750g, tandem t slim, dana 1, ypso or once again omnipod. Not sure what to go for…..suggestions welcome..
Thanks
Ian

I have the Dana i and love it @Ian S I’ve been pumping for more than 20 years and it’s one of my favourite pumps. It’s tiny, robust, can be looped with (I don’t) and is hassle-free. Customer service is brilliant too. Importantly, it has a great range of sets and cannulas, including rotating ones.

I can control it with my phone so that’s a huge bonus too.

I have been offered a pump, but am super scared. Plus I don’t know if I am clever either to use it (apparently I need to pass a carb count course). Maths are NOT my strong suit. Is it true that a pump will reduce the amount of needles I need? Sorry, got lots of questions

I have been offered a pump, but am super scared. Plus I don’t know if I am clever either to use it (apparently I need to pass a carb count course). Maths are NOT my strong suit. Is it true that a pump will reduce the amount of needles I need? Sorry, got lots of questions

Yes it will, insertion of cannula only needs to be done once every 3 days under normal circumstances, so it drastically cuts down on needle use.

Apparently my omnipod dash is going out of warranty and I have been offered a choice of…minimed 750g, tandem t slim, dana 1, ypso or once again omnipod. Not sure what to go for…..suggestions welcome..
Thanks
Ian

Switching to omnopod 5 next month, looking forward to it as already have use of dexcom g6 which will integrate with it.