injection sites???

Status
Not open for further replies.

bex123

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
hello , wanted to ask, what is it called when your injection sites get lumpy? both my arms and my legs have sort of over grown bits on them now , bearing in mind i have been injecting for 20 yrs now 5 jabs a day . is there anything i can do about it and how does it affect how the insulin is absorbed??
thank you
bex xx

Hi Bex, this is known as lipohypertrophy and is caused bu damage to the tissue in the area where you have been injecting. In areas where these lumps have formed, insulin absorbtion will be poorer i.e. less consistent, so it's best to try and avoid them if at all possible. Do you use your tummy to give your arms and legs a rest? I'm not sure if the lumps will go in time if the area is not used. Have you considered a pump?

Hey Bex,

Perhaps you should rotate your sites a bit more often? I know you've probably heard that a fair bit in your twenty years of jabs but what I'd add to that is to leave a lonegr period of time before you go back to jabbing at a particular site.

Tom

Hi Bex, this is known as lipohypertrophy and is caused bu damage to the tissue in the area where you have been injecting. In areas where these lumps have formed, insulin absorbtion will be poorer i.e. less consistent, so it's best to try and avoid them if at all possible. Do you use your tummy to give your arms and legs a rest? I'm not sure if the lumps will go in time if the area is not used. Have you considered a pump?

thanks for that 🙂 no i inject in just my arms and my legs , i have been wanting the pump for 2 yrs now.... have been on the waiting list for a year...they are really hard to get here...all to with pct funding :( , have done loads of reasearch , really just want it so i dont have to jab 5 times a day and just have to change infusion site every couple of days would be a welcome change ...but i just have to be patient i guess...i have nagged but it makes no difference