Infusion Sets when you have little fat?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cumbrianlass

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Hi I am fairly new to pumping (since mid July) and have been having a difficult time with my infusion sets. I am on MM Paradigm Veo pump.

I have discovered that I have muscle under my tummy flab, lots of rolls when sat down and then when stood up, can only press 1/4 to 1/2 an inch before hitting muscle. Legs also have lots of muscle as I do Spinning classes.

I started off on the Quick-Sets, which have crimpled, bent at an L shape and given lots of NO DELIVERIES. Progressed to SURE-T - also had NO DELIVERIES in my stomach and think I hit muscle in my legs as I had an almighty hypo.
Currently have Mio in my buttock, but consultant worried this may not be a good area when I get back into my exercise.
I have tried Silhouette in my stomach once - but it was a nightmare to insert, but when in worked fine.

My consultant is suggesting that an option may be to insert sets into my breast tissue, to which I am not keen - and feel that there must be other options out there. I am not very skinny - UK size 12 and wouldn't describe myself as an althlete, I just like spinning! Surely there must be fitter, more toned people out there on pumps than me - how do you manage?

Any help advice greatfully received!

Hi - this morning I had to change my set, and managed to put a Silhouette in more sucessfully by hand (I havent got a device to help me with this)- seems to be working ok. I wasn't sure about the angle it was meant to be in , but I just kept it quite near to my skin and pushed and hoped for the best! But I have to say it was much easier that the last time, I guess - practice will make perfect - I hope?

When I took the Mio out of my buttock, I noticed that it had blood in it, my levels have been pretty irratic over the last couple of days, I wonder if this could have been the cause?