If only I'd known then...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pigeon

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
Beckah's post got me thinking about a list of one liners of things you've learnt since you got diagnosed. Perhaps it could help newly diagnosed people from finding out the hard way!

To start of the list, I would say (this is based on 3 years, and I'm still learning lots):

Don't assume diabetes is just about cutting out sugar - if you eat more savoury carbohydrates to compensate for not having a pudding then that will also affect your blood glucose

If you think it tastes like full sugar coke, it probably IS full sugar coke... don't drink it to be polite then get a reading of 23mmol/ml.

DO always test before driving, even if you're really sure it will be a high reading, because sometimes you geta surprise low reading

Don't panic when your meter reads 0.6mmol/ml - you'd be unconcious if you got that reading, so it must be an error! Check you hands aren't wet and try again

Anyone else got any thoughts?

You can control your diabetes, it doesn't need to control you. - Probably the one phrase that took me a long time to fully 'get' but an essential one.

You will be the biggest expert of your own condition as you live with it everyday, we're all different so you know yourself best.

Erm, sure there's more but only just got in from work (started 830am) so need to get my brain together first!

Yes good idea.

Can't agree with the bottom one though but this might just be relevant to my daughter and not 'normal' diabetes. She was 0.3 for a number of hours the day she was born. Hands and feet shook all day but midwife said she was fine and just cold. 20 hours after birth, finally at shift change, another midwife thought to test her (I was high on morphine 😛) and Jessica was 0.3 They tried three machines and all said 0.3 and they think she was that pretty much all day. eek !!

Most importantly wash your hands before testing, always.