Ideal daily carb and sugar intake.

Status
Not open for further replies.

pat daine

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
I am still new to diabetes.I have type 2. I inject insulin once a day also take empagliflozin and gliclazide tablets.would like to get an idea of how much carbs and sugar I should have daily.Thank you.

Sorry there is no universal amount and no definitive of what is low carb. It is generally regarded as under 130 grams a day.
As you are on Insulin and Gliclazide you need to be careful as you may have more hypos.
You say you are new are they sure you are Type 2 ? As those combinations are not usall for a new Type 2?

I have been told by the diabetic nurse and my GP I am type 2.My blood sugar levels are up and down They wont let me have anymore insulin later in the day because of hypos as I am 75 and live alone now.I was diagnosed in march only because I took along a urine sample because I had lost so much weight.Straight onto insulin that day.

I have been told by the diabetic nurse and my GP I am type 2.My blood sugar levels are up and down They wont let me have anymore insulin later in the day because of hypos as I am 75 and live alone now.
How were did your Diagnose come about!

They sent a special type of urine sample to the hospital lab.It came back saying I did produce some insulin but not a lot.

I am still new to diabetes.I have type 2. I inject insulin once a day also take empagliflozin and gliclazide tablets.would like to get an idea of how much carbs and sugar I should have daily.Thank you.

As you’re insulin (and other meds) you need to watch out for hypos. If you eat too few carbs, your blood sugar could go too low.

Can you give us an idea of what blood sugar test results you’re getting?

@pat daine - how often have you been told to test your blood via a fingerprick using the provided glucometer and strips?

As you’re insulin (and other meds) you need to watch out for hypos. If you eat too few carbs, your blood sugar could go too low.