I start shaking uncontrollably on the way up, not the way down.

Status
Not open for further replies.

imsweetenough

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi there. M3 Humulin, Victoza and Libre 2 user. Having been almost permanently hyperglycaemic for around 5 years I am now on insulin. Very low sugars are new to me. What I've noticed is that my liver does the thing you'd expect from a Type 2 and it dumps a load of sugar into my system when I drop below 4.5 so I'm not really having any scary hypos (yet). But what I've also noticed is that I don't start shaking until I'm on the way back up. I feel fairly ok when I'm really low. Went to 3.4 last night and just felt a little hungry and "hangovery". But then I go back up again and I can barely pick anything up and it doesn't abate until around 8 or 9. Is that your experience? As I say, I'm new to hypo.

Well at that level you aren't actually hypo. However because your body just isn't used to running at normal BG levels - it thinks it's too low, and as you say - attempts to correct it, itself.

It WILL get used to running lower, honest. Can't tell you how long that will be - different for every single person on the planet.

Steel yourself and do summat else when it starts, literally anything, to try and distract your brain.

Well at that level you aren't actually hypo. However because your body just isn't used to running at normal BG levels - it thinks it's too low, and as you say - attempts to correct it, itself.

It WILL get used to running lower, honest. Can't tell you how long that will be - different for every single person on the planet.

Steel yourself and do summat else when it starts, literally anything, to try and distract your brain.