I dont want insulin insulin :-)

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlipperz

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
65 year old newbie here. my average daily glucoes is around 10 uk scale or 180 in mg/dl. I have no symptoms unltil it gets about 50 % higher. My last HBA1-c was 7.8% in November 21 but i have put on a bit of weight and not watching my diet (lots of chocolate, ice cream and hot drinks with sugar) for 3 months due to stress factors. Doctor want to put me on insulin but I want to try diet and change of meds first as I have got the average glucose down by 40% in a week by cutting out all bad stuff and eating like a rabbit. Currently on metformin 1000 twice a day and gliclazide 30mg ext release once a day and I know people who are on a lot more pills than that and avoiding insulin. Is anyone on multiple pills that are working effectively, if so what? I also hear there is a urine test for insulin production developed in Plymouth University that can help refine treatment to avoid insulin jabs, I but I can't find find anything about how or where to get it done. Anyone had it and did it help? Thanks in advance for taking the time to read this.

Welcome to the forum. Your HbA1C given as 7.8% converts to 62mmol/mol which is the new units used in the UK. Although well into the diabetic zone it is by no means as high as many are on diagnosis and who manage to bring it down to normal level by either dietary changes alone or diet and oral medication.
I would suspect that if you have acted on those two things your HbA1C would already be showing improvement.
Changes to dietary regime is the most powerful thing you can do, the meds just give a helping hand. If you are a straight forward Type2 then there is no reason to suppose that insulin is inevitable.