I am an idiot

Status
Not open for further replies.

margie

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 1
I was really worried tonight my ketones were reading the max on the dip stick, but my actual BM was not too high and I had no DKA symptoms.

I told OH I needed to see someone - he asked why (I've only been diabetic for 14 years).

Because I didn't have the DKA symptoms I didn't want to go to A&E if I didn't need to. Rang the drop in centre to ask if they could check ketones in my blood - they said they could but actually the couldn't......

Anyway the urine PH was normal despite massive ketones though they had dropped by then - possibly because I had taken extra with my evening meal.
Dr couldn't understand the figures.

Anyway he said he thought I would be OK to just drink loads of water given ph etc were OK.

When I got home - I went to do my background dose and discovered that I hadn't taken the whole dose last night (the cartridge had run out mid injection) I have never done that before - I must have been distracted I normally check. So I am an idiot - I am guessing that the extra insulin I took at lunch and dinner offset things - and I have taken some more now - as it it up in the 20s. At least that is part of the puzzle solved.

Last edited:
I don't think you are an idiot. You just had a minor blip. I'm glad you got it al sorted.

I'm on tablets, and with a rising six running round the house. Sometimes I get distracted with everything going on round me and forget to take take my pills. I think many peope do this from time to time, you knew what to do to get it sorted.

I agree with Caroline dont be to hard on yourself your far from an idiot,, theres been times in the past I have totally forgotton to take my pills for the whole day and not realised until it was bed time.After all it is your health margie if you felt the need to get checked it was peace of mind for you then as you found out either way if you had ketones or not.

Thank you Caroline and Steff.