Hypo and hypers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sask

Relationship to Diabetes
Carer/Partner
Hi im new to this so let me begin my partner was in hospital with seizures and a hypo attack ans was on diagnosed in hospital properly .. hes on kapprol and 15 units novo mix am....and 20 pm...when hes shivery and cold do i give him insulin .....when hes hallusinating do i give him insulin he hates needles and will rarely let me check his blood the after care in hospital was rubish i had to look on you tube how to use the novo mix 30 pen....when hes high he hallusinates and can stay up all night till the next day

When he is in any way unwell eg shivery and cold or hallucinating one of you needs to test his blood sugar. You can’t take extra novomix if he is high as it isn’t flexible, he needs to take the dose he has been prescribed and speak to his medical team about the high and low blood sugars.

By Kapprol do you mean Keppra which is an epilepsy medication?

Hi im new to this so let me begin my partner was in hospital with seizures and a hypo attack ans was on diagnosed in hospital properly .. hes on kapprol and 15 units novo mix am....and 20 pm...when hes shivery and cold do i give him insulin .....when hes hallusinating do i give him insulin he hates needles and will rarely let me check his blood the after care in hospital was rubish i had to look on you tube how to use the novo mix 30 pen....when hes high he hallusinates and can stay up all night till the next day

Hi @Sask Did he have seizures before diabetes or were they both diagnosed at the same time? If you can give a little more detail that would help. What type of epilepsy does he have? It’s the epilepsy that’s more likely to be causing the hallucinations, I think. I suggest you speak to his epilepsy nurse if he has one, or his GP if not.