How stop blood glucose rising???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caroline1967

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Hi I have been using insulin for a couple of months now. For the first two weeks things were brilliant....at least on libre they were. I didn't finger prick and I am now not convinced the libre was measuring things properly. After the initial brilliant levels I have struggled to get below 12... nothing outrageous but my nurse said I should aim to be between 6 and 10 and I cannot get lower than 10. The nurse told me to go up 2 units every 2 days until I got below 10. I started on 14 units of humalin i daily and now am on 28 am and 20 pm so a huge increase of insulin. I am still not getting lower than 10.

I have noticed that I can be quite good over night....so 10 or 11 all night. Wake up at 6 am measuring 10 ish. I don't eat breakfast but my glucose steadily rises from when I get up. Today I hit 15 by 10.30 It then doesn't come down again until the evening, when it gets down to 10 or 11 again. Lunch doesn't seem to make much of a difference...might go up one point but not much more.

I know I should probably ring my nurse for some advice but I can't get a call back for 3 weeks so thought I would ask here first. Is there anything I can do to stop it rising during the day? I am a bit naive but I know that food makes it go up so surely if I am not eating it shouldn't be rising like this!
Thanks
Caroine