How often do you have treats?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cool Cat

Relationship to Diabetes
Type 2
Good Evening. How often do you have treats & do you have snacks between meals?

Nothing is fixed.
Some times never, sometimes just as it happens.
I like food, so it's just playing one event off against another.

Every meal is a treat - I'm a good cook if I do say so myself.
I eat twice a day, about 12 hours apart, no snacks required.

Nothing between meals other than one third of a Nature Valley nut protein bar with afternoon cup of tea and a morning coffee. Bedtime coffee with a square of dark chocolate at the weekend.

At the moment no snacks or treats at all but I still have a lot of weight to lose. I am having plenty to eat for my 'proper' meals though (low carb) so not feeling the urge to snack which has surprised me.

I've cut right down on snacks. If I do, then it's a few nuts but once I'm fully eating g low carb, I don't feel the need to.

I don't snack between meals from hunger, I'm not saying I don't feel hungry, I enjoy food more when I do.
I'm not entirely sure I could ever be happy with never feeling hungry, or never being driven to eat, I love food.

But I will snack socially, I'll snack if I know I'll be missing a meal, at times I'll say I've have a snack for lunch instead of a meal.
If I'm eating out, (and we eat out often), many times I may just have a snack rather than a full blown meal for example.
That would bring way too many calories back into my diet.